Show Data
Beethoven Seven
Beethoven Seven

Known as the “Apotheosis of the Dance,” Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 presents a particularly vivacious side of the composer; even the introspective second movement bursts with rythmic vitality. The centerpiece of a triad of gems offered tonight, the Beethoven is complemented by Brahms’ Variations on a Theme by Haydn, which the composer transcribed from its original setting for two pianos in order to teach himself the art of orchestration; and by Alban Berg’s sublimely crafted Violin Concerto, the occasion for Finnish virtuoso Elina Vähälä’s return to the Rocket City.

Brahms | Variations on a Theme by Haydn
Berg | Violin Concerto
Beethoven | Symphony No. 7

  • Gregory Vajda, conductor
  • Elina Vähälä, violin